What Marriage Counseling Conveniently Ignores

Without an honest reckoning when it comes to gender inequity and unpaid labor, therapy can only go so far

Kerala Taylor
8 min readSep 26, 2023

--

Photo by Prostock-studio/Canva

I’ve got all the tools. I’ve got intentional dialogues and “I statements” and shared pools of meaning. I respect the tools. I often forget the tools when I need them most, but they help sometimes.

I’m not ashamed to tell you that my partner and I see a marriage counselor because anyone who is, or has been, married knows damn well that marriage can be damn hard. If you want to get off autopilot and stop sweeping shit under the rug, or if you want to stop rolling your eyes and muttering not-so-kind things under your breath, or if you want to stop getting trapped in vicious arguments that dredge up what happened last month and last spring and six years ago, it really helps to have the guidance of a neutral third party.

Unlike your friend or sister, this third party is not going to simply validate your perspective and tell you you’re right, as much as you might want them to.

I have a lot of respect for the art and science of marriage counseling, but there is a but. While all couples, not to mention all human relationships, can undoubtedly benefit from improved communication skills, we don’t communicate in a vacuum. All…

--

--

Kerala Taylor

Award-winning writer. Interrupting notions of what it means to be a mother, woman, worker, and wife. Subscribe: https://keralataylor.substack.com